Tags

, , , , ,

I Image

I am a post graduate in Economics who was  teaching pre university economics. Then  after my Management degree I started working as a supply chain professional for a established brand in Bangalore. When I began looking for work after resigning from my present one,  I was confident that I would get one without much headache. But my confidence was short lived. For the same job in another company, I was rejected for being a woman. They did not want a woman handling the procurement of an organisation.

Another company told me that they were looking for a younger male candidate. They thought that a woman would not be able to do the necessary leg work and that they were apt for desk jobs in Human resources/sales/Public relations/Front office.

After competing on the same platform as men and excelling in my work, this was something I could not reconcile with. But this is a fact that in India Gender Stereotyping is still very much prevalent.

Image

Women in India are pretty much working in every sphere; but still established companies also believe that women can be employed only for certain posts only.

Sample This-

a question asked in the Teaching Aptitude for the University Grants Commission’s National Eligibility Test (for recruitment to junior research fellowships or university level teaching jobs):

“At primary school stage, most teachers should be women because:”

a. can teach children better than men.

b. know basic content better than men.

c. are available on lower salaries.

d. can deal with children with love and affection.

The above question is asked for candidates who are the future Professors of India, the caretakers of millions of younger generation.

This shows how the Indians still live the fact that women are apt for certain kinds of jobs only. They are taken to be emotional, kind hearted, not competitive and above all lacking the killer instinct. But if you look around, most of the five star hotels have Male chefs; cooking which was supposedly a woman’s job. Women are now pilots, in army, in politics and at gas stations…..but an Indian woman has to always fight for her identity irrespective of what post she holds which challenges a typical male bastion.

These gender roles are embedded into our culture, the way we are brought up and conditioned….to be mothers, caretakers, nurses, cooks and air hostesses……The indian woman struggles constantly challenging these stereotypes…carving a place for herself.

As for me, I have still not managed to get a job for myself……